Skip to content

Snow, cold, snow, cold, 60 degrees.

March 8, 2010

March 8, 2010

We arrived back from a week-long ski vacation to Utah with my family to find Virginia bathed in warmth. The snow was all gone, except for collections of grimy piles here and there. Most importantly, though, the snow was gone from the backyard, so I got to inspect the garden area for the first time in nearly 2 months.

I found one mache plant which had sprouted from beneath all the snow, looking lovely and green. Yanked it and ate it. Italian parsley was dormant and the dead stems and leaves were matted over the oregano…which was still green and growing. It had doubled in size since I saw it last…and being a mint cohort, I decided to not risk letting it take over and yanked it out. C’est la vie; I’ll get a new, small plant and stick it in this year. The leeks were still soldiering on, but I had the idea to just scrape everything out of the dirt and have a clean palette to work from this year.

So, my little collection of King Sieg leeks got chopped up and made into a really delicious potato leek soup. I think that means I ate something from my own garden at least once a month for 12 consecutive months! How about that?

Sifting around to make sure I’d gotten everything out, I also discovered something far less savory than delicious leeks. A cat had been helping itself to my lovely friable soil for use as its personal toilet. Skulls and crossbones, was I steamed!

With the dual purpose of keeping cats out and boosting soil warmth through the last of the winter days, I cut lengths of black landscape fabric and laid them over all the growing areas, except the big raised bed, which is still probably mostly frigid since it’s completely in the shade of the shed.

…Okay, so I didn’t pull EVERYTHING. The chives looked so happy and clumpy, they just had to stay!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 8, 2014 2:45 pm

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post! It’s the little changes that
    produce the biggest changes. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

